Bhutan Weather and Disaster Improvement Regional Project (WB-P154477)

Countries
  • Bhutan
Where the impacts of the investment may be experienced.
Financial Institutions
  • World Bank (WB)
International, regional and national development finance institutions. Many of these banks have a public interest mission, such as poverty reduction.
Project Status
Active
Bank Risk Rating
B
Risk rating varies among banks and may refer only to the particular investment and not to the risk for the project as a whole. Projects marked 'U' have an 'Unknown' risk rating at the time of disclosure.
Voting Date
Sep 20, 2016
The estimate day the bank will vote on a proposed investment. The decision dates may change, so review updated project documents or contact the EWS team.
Borrower
Department of Public Accounts
The holder of the loan, grant, or other investment.
Sectors
  • Technical Cooperation
The service or industry focus of the investment. A project can have several sectors.
Investment Type(s)
Loan
The categories of the bank investment: loan, grant, etc.
Investment Amount (USD)
$ 3.80 million
Value listed on project documents at time of disclosure. If necessary, converted to USD$. Please review updated project documents for more information.
Project Cost (USD)
$ 3.80 million
Value listed on project documents at time of disclosure. If necessary, converted to USD$. Please see updated project documentation for more information.
Currency conversion note:
Bank reported
Converted using 2016-09-20 exchange rate.
Bank Documents
Primary Source

Original disclosure @ WB website

Updated in EWS Aug 2, 2017

Disclosed by Bank Dec 21, 2015


Contribute Information
Can you contribute information about this project?
Contact the EWS Team

Project Description
This project aims to improve Bhutan's ability to respond to and report weather events . The first is intended to strengthen the capacity for weather monitoring, forecasting and services. The second is intended to strengthen capacity for disaster preparedness and response. The third component is intended to fund the design of an agricultural weather system for improved training and greater capacity to deal with weather issues.
Investment Description
  • World Bank (WB)
Contact Information
World Bank Contact: Poonam Pillai Title: Senior Environmental Specialis Tel: 458-9442 Email: ppillai@worldbank.org Contact: Dechen Tshering Title: Disaster Risk Management Speci Tel: 5739+124 Email: dtshering@worldbank.org Borrower/Client/Recipient Name: Department of Public Accounts Contact: Choiten Wangchuk Title: Director General Tel: 975-2324346 Email: cwangchuk@mof.gov.bt Implementing Agencies Name: Department of Disaster Management Contact: Chhador Wangdi Title: Director Tel: 975-2327098 Email: cwangdi@mohca.gov.bt Name: Department of Hydromet Services Contact: Karma Tsering Title: Director Tel: 9752327202 Email: ktsering@moea.gov.bt ACCOUNTABILITY MECHANISM OF WORLD BANK The World Bank Inspection Panel is the independent complaint mechanism and fact-finding body for people who believe they are likely to be, or have been, adversely affected by a World Bank-financed project. If you submit a complaint to the Inspection Panel, they may investigate to assess whether the World Bank is following its own policies and procedures for preventing harm to people or the environment. You can contact the Inspection Panel or submit a complaint by emailing ipanel@worldbank.org. You can learn more about the Inspection Panel and how to file a complaint at: http://ewebapps.worldbank.org/apps/ip/Pages/Home.aspx.